On Ordination and Thanksgiving

I had every intention of writing this post to be published yesterday, but between baking pies and a new puppy in my life, time got away from me.

Yesterday was Thanksgiving, of course, but also the third anniversary of my ordination at

Ordination lunch

Calvary Baptist Church in Waco, Texas. I can’t seem to get away from Calvary Baptist Churches. As I sat around two tables yesterday with family and friends I just kept returning to that Sunday morning in 2007 when the church I dearly love(d) gathered around me whispering prayers, hopes and dreams for me. It’s enough to get me a little teary even now.

So many of those people in Waco have impacted my life dramatically and ways I never could have imagined when I set off for the exotic land of Texas in 2000 as an eager 18-year old freshman at Baylor University. Some days I long for Waco life in ways that I cannot even articulate. Waco felt like a security blanket sometimes. I still can’t figure out how to articulate it.

I am thankful for so much, but yesterday I was especially thankful for the presence of Calvary Waco in my life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

