Blowin’ in the Wind

“Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.” George Eliot in a letter to Miss Lewis, October 1841

On Friday morning, I bundled up and headed out of the house. The sky was bright blue, the air was crisp and the wind was in full force. Only the day before had it been eighty degrees, requiring Washington, DC to remove their scarves in favor of short-sleeve shirts again.

I hopped on the 52 to the Holocaust Museum where I was meeting my friend Carol. She and I went to church together in Waco. She her husband now live in Portland, Oregon. They were in town for some meetings and I jumped on the chance to see her and catch up.

The 52 bus made record time, only 20 minutes from Columbia Heights to the museum so I had a few minutes on my hands. The sun was shining brightly and was actually warm. As I stood leaning against the museum, preparing for what I knew was to come, I watched as a group of leaves were captured by the wind and went swirling up and down, in a circle. In that moment, I actually tuned into my iPod (how does that become white noise?), which was playing Bob Dylan’s Blowin’ in the Wind.

I smiled and kept waiting in the sunshine.

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

