5 Things I love on Tuesdays

1. Amazon’s $5 albums. I have to be careful- really careful or I could easily spend a lot of money on accident. Amazon’s albums are usually cheaper than iTunes and these are special gems. Go here with fair warning.

2. Boots. Since it is almost cool outside, that means shopping for a new pair of boots. I can’t wait to wear tights and boots.

3. Tea. As the heat subsides, I break out some of my favorite teas. For whatever reason (and much to the dismay of my southern grandmothers), I do not like iced (read: sweet) tea. So now that a morning can once again start with hot tea on the front porch, my teas of choice are: Good Earth Sweet n Spicy (thanks Lizzie!), Tynan’s Green Chai (changing my life for real) and Caramel tea from The Tea Shop in Spain.

4. Voting. This is a week late, but I really do love voting. I do not love voting for a delegate for Congress who has no voting rights, but I love my civic duty. I voted early last Tuesday morning right next door to my house at Mt Rona Baptist Church. I wore my “I Voted” sticker all day long. I am disappointed in the mayoral election, but so goes DC politics.

5. Theology. In general, yes I love theology. But what I love right now are the outlets in which I am currently discussing it. One of them is the Theologians’ Roundtable class I’ve written about before. We met for the first time on Sunday night and I am so thankful/amazed/perplexed/excited that I’m at a church where people take seriously the task of theological and ecclesiastical study. We gathered at the table as the Catholic Church, John Calvin, Smyth & Helwys, the Orthodox Church, Moltmann, Bonhoeffer, Kierkegaard and George Tinker and answered the basic question “What is the church?” Our conversation was rich and lively. Can’t wait for Augustine, Oscar Romero, Elisabeth Schussler-Fiorenza, Gustavo Gutierrez, Teresa de Avila and Desmond Tutu to join in the conversation next week.

And next Tuesday, we start Theology on Draft where a group of us from Calvary will meet at Commonwealth Pub and talk through the Apostles’ Creed. Again, I can’t believe people want to geek out like me (besides Rachel) as part of our faith journey. These two opportunities fill an important space in my life that has been left mostly unattended for the last two years.

This entry was posted in 5 Things I love on Tuesdays. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5 Things I love on Tuesdays

  1. Bromleigh says:

    I, too, love my fall boots, but grow dismayed because I tend to buy mid-level ones that last a year and then die. Is this your experience? Should I just reconcile myself to this and get excited about boot purchasing as an annual experience, like that of the white shirt that requires routine replacement?

    Love the rest of your list, too. Here’s to Tuesdays.

  2. Susan Sevier says:

    Sorry, St. Teresa was having an ecstasy that brought on a headache. I love your “5 Things” posting…it is a wonderful creative idea. And I still have my “I voted” sticker on my shirt…

Leave a Reply

