People that I know

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been trying to form words surrounding this idea floating around in my head. I can’t quite make tangible this idea, but here goes.

I know a lot of great people. Like, top-notch, high-quality, want-to-save-the-world and still know how to have a good time kinds of people–people who devote their lives and time to working for the betterment of everyone surrounding them.

I often think about this when my friend groups merge. Since I’m in DC and grew up in the area, I have all my worlds present. Childhood and highschool friends abound. (There are about five who I can’t imagine life without. Maybe that’s because I’ve known some of them for twenty years!). DC is the second highest alumni capital for Baylor University (I once read this stat in some Baylor publication) so I’m surrounded by friends who I lived through college with and now live our “adult” lives in the same place. And Truett folks are around too. It’s crazy to think that so many of us have ended up in DC, all the way from Waco, but it’s life-giving and I love calling someone just to ask “what is my job?” and knowing they get it. Of course, I have all my Calvary people (who constantly amaze me at their devotion to living life together and bringing about gospel community) and all the random DC friends I’ve made over the last two and a half years since being back.

June was a month of traveling for me. I moved to the new house and soon was on the road to New Jersey to visit dear friends Brantley and Caroline Dean. That weekend was refreshing for me to be with people who know me well and with whom I can have pretty important conversations with about life, church, etc. I was back in DC for a few days and hit the road to Charlotte for CBF’s General Assembly. To list out the antics of that week would be impossible, but safe to say I reunited with friends and former roommates who are scattered across the country, working for good in their local communities. It was soul-restoring to see them and just be. These relationships are so important to me, even as we weave in and out of contact and different states. Those are my people. Some might even say…my constants.

Quite often in the last few weeks, I’ve sat back and considered these people who I journey with and wonder…how did I get so lucky? I’m so grateful.

*NB: I toiled over what pictures to put up in classic Leah fashion because I didn’t want to leave anyone out. So, I chose no pictures. Everyone included.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to People that I know

  1. Meredith Williams says:

    I’m thrilled to be your constant. Though, I do believe Crina might have more power in navigating what period of time in which we find ourselves. It’s a toss up. Include my picture next time, and I’ll pick you.

Leave a Reply

